Tim Reed: The Power of the Present

It would be unfair to say that Tim Reed won this year’s 70.3 Ironman World Championship by virtue of his sons Oscar (age 4) and Arthur (age 1) repeatedly falling ill in the weeks leading up to race day. Reedy—who outsprinted Germany’s Sebastian Kienle in a heated battle to the line after more than three and a half hours of racing—had failed to stay healthy while he and his wife Monica played nurse to their sniffling and sneezing kids. A surprise last-minute wisdom tooth extraction merely topped off his ever-changing preparation for the race in Mooloolaba, just three hours north of his home in Byron Bay, Australia.

It is fair to say, however, that Reed went into the race relaxed. Unpressured. And that’s the biggest take-away from this monumental win—Reed races best when he’s stress-free and enjoying himself. He admits, “In the past I have definitely been fitter for World Championship events, but I let the pressure of the race and my personal ambitions take the better of me. This time I didn’t have the perfect preparation at all. Whatever the result, it would be a bonus. As triathletes, we train so much that we are often over-trained and we don’t realize it. But this time, things were very busy at home and my training was far from ideal. Maybe these setbacks were exactly what I needed.”

Triathlon is the ultimate endurance sport, so it may come as a surprise that Tim Reed, at 31, initially set off playing rugby and basketball. At age 18, he trained for a mere six weeks before racing his first Ironman. He ended up walking the concluding marathon.

From there on he began to race here and there, now and then.

By 2008, at age 23, Tim was ready to double down on his efforts. He took a shot at racing abroad and emailed, by his own account, “Every tri club in Europe.” One Spanish club replied to his request for support and Reed, who doesn’t speak Spanish, set off to become a professional athlete. “All I did was train,” he says. “I ended up traveling back to Australia, working as a coach, but the taste for the sport just stuck with me. In 2010 I decided to bite the bullet, go back to Europe and have ago at it.”

The workload of professional triathletes is tremendous. Reed puts in about 23-24 hours of training every week, which he claims is considerably less than what some of his competitors do.

“The bike training is the most enjoyable part for me. Long after I finish my career I’ll still be riding bikes. I could give up running and swimming much more easily. Biking gets me going. I love going fast. When I am training alone, I’ll put on my race wheels. Going fast gives you such a buzz. Cycling is my biggest pain cave, I love going deep. But it’s also my ideal recovery training: I love riding my mountain bike on a rest day.”

Tim Reed has become synonymous with the Budgy Smuggler race briefs (For those in the Northern Hemisphere where the brand isn’t yet as ever-present, think of the small, brightly patterned briefs often seen in a competitive swimming environment). The family-owned brand out of Sydney has been Reed’s longest standing sponsor, and there’s no question in Tim’s mind that he’ll always race in his signature swimmers. He is quick to avow that the support of the crowds at the races is much higher when he’s smuggling his budgy, and that there’s a certain psychological side to it too.

Initially though, it was all based on comfort during the race, as there are physical benefits to the briefs, including no chafe caused by rubbing and more effective ventilation.

“In the end, I just love ‘em,” he says.

Jump back to Mooloolaba, the scene of a legendary face-off between local favorite (and budgy-smuggling) Tim Reed and Sebastian Kienle, the 2014 Ironman World Champion and 2012 and 2013 Ironman 70.3 World Champion. Reed uses the word “tenacious” to describe his rival, an athlete he respects and holds in high regard. “Sebastian never races for second,” he says.

When Reed emerges from the clear blue ocean onto Mooloolaba beach, he is in a group of about a dozen athletes. Kienle is about 90 seconds behind. The bike course is technical, which is much to Reed’s liking. He loves the way his Trek Speed Concept handles through the corners, accelerates out of the turns, and climbs effortlessly. In a triathlon of this particular distance, it’s the strategy of many riders to break up the pack right away, which makes for a succession of high-power surges.

“There’s no slipstreaming allowed [in Ironman], so you have to put in a sustained 400-Watt effort for up to two minutes if you want to pass whomever’s in front of you. You’ve got 100 meters of athletes in front of you, so there’s no other way. Such a surge can potentially destroy your run two hours later, which is another reason to do it right away.”

At the start of the half-marathon, Reed felt strong and confident. “I generally know from my power on the bike how I’ll need to pace the run. If my power numbers are really high, I generally take the first kilometers of the run easier, to fuel up and hydrate.

“The trick is also about knowing the athletes you’re up against. When the heat is a factor, I’ll often go full effort immediately to make everyone panic. I know I’m good in hot and humid conditions. When you’re racing a guy like Sebastian, however, there’s no point. He won’t fall for it.”

Reed and Kienle fought it out for over an hour, attack after attack. Faster and faster. At this level of the sport, says Reed, the difference between the top guys is ever so slight. Every athlete is in impeccable shape. It’s an athlete’s mindset that makes the difference. Your thirst for victory is what makes or breaks your race—especially in an Ironman 70.3 (half distance).

In Reedy’s words: “In a full Ironman, you really have to remain calm and cool. Put in a solid effort, but never hurt yourself. It’s the distance that will hurt you and slowly take you down. An Ironman 70.3 is very different. It’s high threshold, not just endurance. The pain is there from the beginning and only gets worse. You go as hard as you can.”

It’s the ability to lose yourself and focus on what’s immediately around you that makes for an optimal performance—your breathing or your cadence, for example— rather than dwelling on your swim or worrying about your run. It’s about focusing on doing what you can do right there in the moment.

He calls it “the power of the present,” and it’s a philosophy that clearly works for him. In fact, his capacity to focus on the present may have been the deciding factor in his World Championship because he was able to compartmentalize the whole race into the few final meters. “Win this short sprint,” he may have been thinking, “and you’ll win the race.”

And perhaps, being present in the moment for his family before the race, when he was wiping noses rather than keeping to a strict training regimen, also played a part in his legendary win. He was focusing on doing what he could do, right there in the moment.

The reality of Reed’s astounding win is that he was more prepared—mentally and physically—than the rest of the field, and that he had the most left in the tank at the end. But with each telling, a story morphs slightly. Details are refined and themes emerge. Years from now, when Reed tells the story of this triumph to his sons, don’t be surprised if the renowned family man’s tale begins with, “Let me tell you about how you helped me win the World Championship…”

SPEED CONCEPT

Speed Concept is pure drag-defying tri performance. It offers total aerodynamic integration, incredible fit, and even Project One customization, all in one incredible system.

BALLISTA ROAD HELMET

Thanks to a wind tunnel-proven design and superior venting via our unique internal channeling, Ballista launches you to the front of breakaways and sprint-line finishes.

HILO RXL TRIATHLON SHOE

Hilo RXL combines thoughtful tri-specific details like the easy-to-grab heel loop with the proven heritage of Bontrager performance footwear for the quickest, stiffest, most comfortable triathlon shoe ever.

Source quoted from:

http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/story/tim_reed_power_of_the_present/?utm_source=bm23&utm_medium=email&utm_term=Image++Tim+Reed+running&utm_content=http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/story/tim_reed_power_of_the_present/&utm_campaign=US+Consumer+20161007+Tim+Reed

Tim Reed: The Power of the Present

如果說Tim Reed贏得今年的70.3 Ironman World Championship,是全靠他兩個兒子Oscar (4歲) 及 Arthur (1歲) 於連續幾個禮拜內不斷地生病直至比賽當天,可能是不公平的講法。Reedy—經過多於三個半小時後,在今次的激戰中跑贏了德國的選手Sebastian Kienle—卻失敗地保持健康,原因是他與妻子Monica要陪伴一路在吸鼻涕及打噴嚏的孩子們玩醫生與護士的遊戲。而且在將近比賽最後一刻時,一個驚喜的智慧齒拔除手術差點使他為Mooloolaba比賽(已經要不斷改變的)的準備雪上加霜。Mooloolaba位於他澳洲的家鄉Byron Bay以北三個小時車程。

但是,如果要公平地說的,就是Reed以非常放鬆的心情展開比賽,沒有壓力。而這就是他在這此歷史性的勝利中最大的得著—Reed在放鬆無壓力的時候、享受比賽的時候,就是他能達到最佳狀態的時候。他承認︰「在過去的World Championship活動裡,我絕對有比今次比賽更fit的狀態,但是當時的我卻因為比賽壓力和個人的野心慾望,將自己好的一面磨滅掉。這次,我完全沒有任何完美的準備。無論結果是怎樣,對我來說已經是一個額外的好處。身為一個三項鐵人賽選手,我們進行大量的訓練,而很多時候我們沒有察覺到其實已經超出自己的極限。但是這次,因為要忙著處理家裡的太多事情,所以我的訓練時間比預期中少了很多很多。可能這樣的調整正正就是我所需要的。」

三項鐵人賽是終極的持久力運動,但令人驚喜的是31歲的Tim Reed最初開始是玩橄欖球及籃球的。在18歲那年,他在第一次參加的Ironman比賽開始前只訓練了6個星期。而最後他以走路來終結最後的馬拉松關卡。

由那一刻開始,他不斷比賽,直到現在。

在2008年,23歲的Tim已經準備好為他的努力雙倍加碼。他嘗試用自己的電郵戶口「Every tri club in Europe」去報名海外的比賽。一個西班牙的俱樂部回應了他要求支持的電郵,雖然Reed並不會說西班牙話,但就是這樣,他開始了職業的運動員的生涯。他說︰「我做的所有就是訓練。我最後返回了澳洲,成為了一名教練,但是三項鐵人運動就好像與我形影不離一直跟隨著我。在2010年,我決定面對挑戰,重返歐洲試試看。」

職業三項鐵人賽選手的訓練量非常驚人。Reed每個星期需要進行23-24個小時的訓練,而他指出他的訓練量比起其他競爭者已經算少。

「單車訓練是令我最為享受的環節。在遙遠的將來即使我結束了我的職業三項鐵人賽生涯後,我仍然會繼續踩單車。跑步和游泳會對我來說相對地較容易可以放棄。踩單車使我不斷前進。我愛速度的感覺。當我獨自進行訓練時,我會帶上我的比賽單車。速度給你很大的刺激感。踩單車是使我不斷進步成為一個更好的運動員的最大動力,我喜歡不斷的向前。而且這亦是我理想中恢復性的訓練︰在假日時,我愛踩著我的爬山單車到處去。」

Tim Reed已經成為了Budgy Smuggler 短比賽泳褲的同義詞(對於北半球的朋友來說,這個品牌應該還未出現,所以可以嘗試想像在游泳比賽都頗常見到的細細條、有鮮明花紋的短泳褲)。這個在悉尼(Sydney)的家族公司經營的品牌是與Reed的贊助關係維持得最長時間的長期贊助商,所以無可置疑地Reed一定會永遠記得要著上有著他的識別標誌的泳褲。而他很快地也坦承,在比賽中當他著上它的Budgy Smuggler泳褲,群眾對他的支持度會更高,而在心理層面上亦有某程度的效用。

剛開始其實我只是為了比賽的舒適,考慮到那泳褲可以帶給我很多身體上的好處,包括不會有因為磨擦出現的損傷以及更有效地通風。

「最終,我只是喜愛它們。」他說。

跳回Mooloolaba,在當地人最喜愛的(以及budgy-smuggling代言人)Tim Reed與2014 Ironman World Champion及 2012 and 2013 Ironman 70.3 World Champion冠軍Sebastian Kienle,的一場傳奇對決場景中。Reed用一個詞語來形容他的對手「頑強」,一個他尊敬及他高評價的運動員。「Sebastian永遠不會為了追求第二名而比賽。」他說。

當Reed在潔淨湛藍的海面浮現並抵達Mooloolaba海灘時,他己身處在一群十二個運動員之中。Kienle大概只落後90秒。單車環節是技術性的,正正就是Reed的喜愛。他喜愛Trek Speed Concept在角落位的操控性、在轉彎時的加速然後不用吹灰之力的爬坡。在一個像這次三項鐵人賽般有如此距離的比賽,脫離大隊並超越對手是很多單車手的策略,而這構成了一連串因單車手馬力全開而起的浪潮般的氣流。

「乘著對手後方的氣流再超越對手是不被允許的 [於Ironman比賽],如果你想超越在你前方的不論誰人,你要至少在兩分鐘時間內持續付出400-Watt(瓦)的力量。當在你前方100米距離內有其他運動員,不這樣做根本就沒有其他方法,因為這種如浪潮般的氣流很有可能會破壞你兩個小時之後要進行的比賽,這是另一個需耍當下馬上處理的原因。」

在半程馬拉松的起點,Reed感到無比的強大及自信。「我大概從我在單車上的力量便知道之後我該用怎樣的速度進行跑步賽。如果我的力量指數真的很高,我一般都會在第一公里的路程跑得較輕鬆,以恢復體力及補充水份。

另一個竅門就是要了解你將要面對的運動員對手。當高溫是一個因素,很多時候我都會瞬間馬力全開以使所有人手足無措,因為我清楚了解熾熱及潮溼的環境對我是有利的。但是,當你要與像Sebastian般的人比賽,這招起不了任何作用,他不會上當的。」

Reed與Kienle的鬥爭持續超過一個小時,緊接進攻的仍是進攻、更快然後更快。Reed說,在這種級別的運動,前幾名的差別經乎永遠都是極為微小的。每個運動員都是以無懈可擊的狀態出戰。只要是運動員都會有想破舊立新的心態。你對勝利的渴望就是使你成功或突破的動力—尤其是於Ironman 70.3 (半程) 比賽。

Reedy的說話︰「在一次全程的Ironman,你真的要保持冷靜。投入固定並連續的努力,但永遠不要使自己受傷。距離會對你構成傷害而且使你的速度越來越慢。Ironman 70.3是非常不同的。不只是一場磨練,它更是一個超始點。痛苦一開始便有,而且只會越來越糟糕。你要有幾分力就出盡幾分力。」

關鍵取決於你能否做到忘記自己然後專注在你周圍會瞬間發生的、會影響你最理想表現的事情—例如你的呼吸及節奏—而不是老是想著你之前的游泳表現或擔憂你現在的跑步結果。只需專注你在這個當下可以做到甚麼正確的事。

他稱之為”the power of the present”「活在當下的力量」,而很明顯地這哲學觀點幫助到他不少。事實上,他專注現在的能力在他的World Championship 成為了決定性的因素,因為他可以將整個比賽區分成只是最後的幾百米。他可能有這樣想過︰「贏了這短跑比賽,你就可以贏得整個比賽的勝利。」

又或者,在比賽之前他為了他的家人而活在當下,選擇擦拭他的兒子們的鼻子而不是繼續他嚴格的訓練及養生,亦成為了他這次傳奇性勝利中重要的一個原因。他只是專注於當下,就只是當下,他可以做到的事情。

Reed這次令人震驚的勝利的現實就是他有更充足的準備—心理上及身理上—比場上的其他人,而他在比賽結束後仍剩下的力量亦是最多的。但每個故事在不同的說法下都會有些微的不一樣。內容被完善而主題思想更突出。幾年之後,當Reed將這個成功的故事告訴他的兩個兒子,不用驚訝這個出名的家庭主男如果用這個開場白︰「等我講一個關於你們如何幫我贏得World Championship比賽勝利的故事吧……」

SPEED CONCEPT

Speed Concept 具備完全抗風阻的三項自行車性能。完全符合空氣動力學的集成結構、令人難以置信的契合特點,甚至是 Project One 定制,均融合在這個令人驚嘆的系統中。

BALLISTA ROAD HELMET

Ballista 公路頭盔像古代希臘的投擲武器一樣到達目的位置,因此而得名。由於其經過驗證的風洞設計和通過獨特的內部通道通風的優越性,Ballista 助您比賽時率先沖破起跑線和終點線。

HILO RXL TRIATHLON SHOE

” Hilo RXL結合了周到的三個特定細節,易抓握的腳跟設計與經驗證的傳統Bontrager performance 鞋類,為最快,最硬,最舒適的三項鐵人鞋。”

Source quoted from:

http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/story/tim_reed_power_of_the_present/?utm_source=bm23&utm_medium=email&utm_term=Image++Tim+Reed+running&utm_content=http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/story/tim_reed_power_of_the_present/&utm_campaign=US+Consumer+20161007+Tim+Reed